Sykes Takes Two Podiums And The Lap Record At Monza

May 16, 2013

KRT rider Tom Sykes left the Monza race weekend with a second and a third place finish, new track and race lap records and third place in the championship after two blistering displays of fast riding.

Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) could not find his ideal set-up in the races and finished with two strong top ten finishes, so he is still sixth place in the overall standings.


Sykes was so close to the win in the first race that the gap at the flag was only 0.085 seconds and he was delighted to be able to race hard right to the end on his Ninja ZX-10R. A last lap manoeuvre on an inside line at the classic Parabolica final corner took him past Eugene Laverty but not quite to the win itself.


In race two he had to fight hard all the way and scored a third place, only 0.725 seconds from the win. Tom’s new lap record is 1’42.229 seconds, set on lap five in the first race. In the championship Tom is third, on 119 points, 18 points off the lead.


Baz was seventh in race one, improving on his qualifying position of 11th, as he gathered more important points. In race two he had to start from the very back after he stalled his machine on the line but battled through to finish eighth.


Fabrizio Lai (Kawasaki Team Pedercini) and Federico Sandi (Kawasaki Team Pedercini) each scored points in race one, Lai for 13th and Sandi for 15th. 


The Superstock 1000 FIM Cup race delivered a 1-2 for Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R riders, with Lorenzo Savadori (Team Pedercini Kawasaki) winning by 0.402 seconds from Jeremy Guarnoni (MRS Kawasaki). No fewer than six of the bikes in the top nine places were Kawasakis. Guarnoni is fourth overall in the championship, only eight points from the leader.


Tom Sykes: “Today I put it all out there for everybody to see. I could not give any more. Race one was a great race, a great battle although I was like a sitting duck at the back for a time. I was waiting to see where those guys were strong, and they have some speed, so I used that to my advantage and it led to a very exciting last lap. I tried to lead after lap 15 and pull a gap but it was not to be, because they reeled me straight back in. The last lap was great, it was almost a third to first run from the last corner, but I did not want to do anything stupid, so to have the Kawasaki working like that here makes me very motivated. Monza was going to be one of the most challenging circuits we would visit this season but we have come away with pole position, a new circuit record, a lap record and two podiums, so I am happy!”


Loris Baz: “We knew it was going to be a hard raceday for us but in race two we understood a lot and I think we know which direction we have to go at this track. I am confident for the next races and on from here with sixth place in the championship. The bike stalled on the grid when I put it through first gear so I think I did not give enough gas, so I had to start from pitlane, I think I could have been sixth maybe in that race and not eighth, as I was not pushing at the end. Some other riders did not score.”



Race 1

1 Marco Melandri BMW S1000 RR

2 Tom Sykes Kawasaki ZX-10R

3 Eugene Laverty Aprilia RSV4

4 Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia RSV4

5 Chaz Davies BMW S1000 RR

6 Michel Fabrizio Aprilia RSV4

7 Loris Baz Kawasaki ZX-10R

8 Jonathan Rea Honda CBR1000RR

9 Leon Camier Suzuki GSX-R1000

10 Davide Giugliano Aprilia RSV4

15 Federico Sandi Kawasaki ZX-10R

DNS Alex Lundh Kawasaki ZX-10R


Race 2

1 Eugene Laverty Aprilia RSV4

2 Marco Melandri BMW S1000 RR

3 Tom Sykes Kawasaki ZX-10R

4 Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia RSV4

5 Michel Fabrizio Aprilia RSV4

6 Davide Giugliano Aprilia RSV4

7 Leon Camier Suzuki GSX-R1000

8 Loris Baz Kawasaki ZX-10R

9 Ayrton Badovini Ducati 1199

10 Max Neukirchner Ducati 1199

13 Federico Sandi Kawasaki ZX-10R

DNS Alex Lundh Kawasaki ZX-10R



1 Sylvain Guintoli Aprilia RSV4 137

2 Eugene Laverty Aprilia RSV4 124

3 Tom Sykes Kawasaki ZX-10R 119

4 Marco Melandri BMW S1000 RR 96

5 Chaz Davies BMW S1000 RR 94

6 Loris Baz Kawasaki ZX-10R 75

7 Michel Fabrizio Aprilia RSV4 74

8 Jonathan Rea Honda CBR1000RR 71

9 Davide Giugliano Aprilia RSV4 49

10 Leon Camier Suzuki GSX-R1000 46

17 Federico Sandi Kawasaki ZX-10R 12

19 Alex Lundh Kawasaki ZX-10R 7