Lascorz Second Row At A Bumpy Kyalami

May 19, 2009

Provec Kawasaki rider Joan Lascorz was top Ninja ZX-6R qualifier for round six of the WSS championship, with his team-mate Katsuaki Fujiwara still inside the top ten.

Lascorz went fifth on the grid, just missing a front row start as he worked hard on overcoming the disruptive effects of Kyalami's bumpy track surface.

Fujiwara was tenth from 28 riders, and starts the 23-lap race on Sunday from row three.

The 4.246km Kyalami circuit saw a gentle fall of rain early in the first Supersport session but the clouds soon disappeared and track temperatures rose to 24°C in the African winter sun.

As Kyalami is a track which has not been used by WSS since 2002, there was one additional free practice session on Friday, to allow riders and teams to familiarise themselves with the layout.

Joan Lascorz: “I have some problems on the bumps because the bike is moving around too much and the bike does not turns as well as I want it to. Because of that it’s hard to keep the speed exiting the corner. We have improved the bike in these areas, but not quite enough yet. Tomorrow in warm-up we will move one stage more in this direction and then we will be ready to race.”

Katsuaki Fujiwara: “Our gearbox and engine settings have improved from day one, not so much of a big change, but a small step. The engine did not feel as powerful as we wanted but in terms of the cornering, the bumps were not as bad for me as some other riders. I would like to have a little bit more low gear corner exit acceleration at this track. But I think we are set to race and race well.”


1 Eugene Laverty Honda CBR600RR
2 Cal Crutchlow Yamaha YZF R6
3 Mark Aitchison Honda CBR600RR
4 Joan Lascorz Kawasaki ZX-6R
5 Kenan Sofuoglu Honda CBR600RR
6 Andrew Pitt Honda CBR600RR
7 Garry McCoy Triumph Daytona 675
8 Anthony West Honda CBR600RR
9 Michele Pirro Yamaha YZF R6
10 Matthieu Lagrive Honda CBR600RR
13 Katsuaki Fujiwara Kawasaki ZX-6R

1 Cal Crutchlow Yamaha YZF R6 119
2 Eugene Laverty Honda CBR600RR 106
3 Kenan Sofuoglu Honda CBR600RR 83
4 Andrew Pitt Honda CBR600RR 64
5 Joan Lascorz Kawasaki ZX-6R 60
6 Anthony West Honda CBR600RR 60
7 Mark Aitchison Honda CBR600RR 50
8 Fabien Foret Yamaha YZF R6 44
9 Michele Pirro Yamaha YZF R6 40
10 Matthieu Lagrive Honda CBR600RR 31
13 Katsuaki Fujiwara Kawasaki ZX-6R 26