Lascorz Second at Monza Despite Early Setback

May 12, 2009

Joan Lascorz overcame a problem soon after the start of the 16-lap race to record a season best second place race finish on his Ninja ZX-6R Kawasaki.

The fifth round of the 14-round season proved to be far from straightforward for Lascorz, after a first lap near-crash injured his leg, before he regained ground and hunted down all the riders in his path except one, eventual race winner Cal Crutchlow.

Lascorz improved his placing in the championship from eighth to sixth, after his second podium finish in two races.

Katsuaki Fujiwara was in the early mix at the fast and furious Monza, up to fifth at one point and looking capable of sticking with the podium contenders at one time. He battled with Andrew Pitt for fifth place on the last lap, and only just lost an even higher final placing.

Fujiwara, who has endured some hard weekends mixed in with a best of fifth at Valencia, improved his championship standing to 12th, after a very positive day for Kawasaki in the Supersport class.

Joan Lascorz: “I had a big problem at the start of the race when I almost crashed and hurt my leg when my footpeg dug right into my left leg. It numbed my whole leg for a time and it made changing gears very difficult. I lost some places but recovered them again when I got some feeling back and had to ride hard to take second place. We had a good race here, our best finish of the year and after a start like that it was a good result.”

Katsuaki Fujiwara: “Not so bad today and we had an improvement in our set-up. We just needed a bit more of an improvement again to finish any higher than this. The team and I are now working very well and although I am happy with the result today I am a racer and I always want more.”

1 Cal Crutchlow Yamaha YZF R6
2 Joan Lascorz Kawasaki ZX-6R
3 Fabien Foret Yamaha YZF R6
4 Eugene Laverty Honda CBR600RR
5 Andrew Pitt Honda CBR600RR
6 Katsuaki Fujiwara Kawasaki ZX-6R
7 Michele Pirro Yamaha YZF R6
8 Garry McCoy Triumph Daytona 675
9 Kenan Sofuoglu Honda CBR600RR
10 Gianluca Nannelli Triumph Daytona 675

1 Cal Crutchlow Yamaha YZF R6 99
2 Eugene Laverty Honda CBR600RR 81
3 Kenan Sofuoglu Honda CBR600RR 72
4 Andrew Pitt Honda CBR600RR 54
5 Anthony West Honda CBR600RR 52
6 Joan Lascorz Kawasaki ZX-6R 47
7 Fabien Foret Yamaha YZF R6 44
8 Mark Aitchison Honda CBR600RR 34
9 Michele Pirro Yamaha YZF R6 33
10 Barry Veneman Suzuki GSX-R600 28
12 Katsuaki Fujiwara Kawasaki ZX-6R 23