Canadian Kawasaki Road Racers Excel off of the Track

June 18, 2007

Canadian Kawasaki Road Racers Excel off of the Track

June 15, 2007

TORONTO, ON – The votes for the fifth-annual Inside Track Readers’ Choice Awards, presented by Castrol, have been tallied, and the winners have been announced. Part of this elite group of winners includes Canadian Kawasaki Road Racing Team riders Jordan Szoke and Brett McCormick.

Following his 2006 double championship season in both Superbike and Supersport, Jordan Szoke was awarded the prestigious honor of ‘Canadian Motorcycle Racer of the Year’ in this year’s awards.  Dominating last years Parts Canada Series aboard the ZX-6R and ZX-10R, Jordan secured both championships for Team Green by accumulating ten race wins and seven pole positions.

For 2007, Szoke looks to repeat as the Canadian National Champion and keep the coveted number one on the Factory Kawasaki machines. Currently, Jordan leads the points chase after another sweep of the opening round in Mt. Tremblant. Also, he looks to surpass Steve Crevier in the all-time Superbike wins category, needing just two more wins with seven races to go.

The newest addition to the team, fifteen year old rookie sensation Brett McCormick was awarded the title of ‘Up and Coming Motorcycle Racer of the Year’. In 2006, Brett competed in the Amateur 600 series and exemplified the drive and determination that inevitably led to his signing with the factory Kawasaki team for 2007. As the youngest competitor in the series, Brett looks to use 2007 as a development year aboard his first ever ride on a Canadian spec. Superbike. Following round one in Mt. Tremblant, Brett impressed many by finishing sixth in both the Superbike and Supersport races.

Other notable winners in this year’s awards include Canadian racing legend Ron Fellows who took the top honor of Overall Canadian Racer of the year, as well as Paul Tracy who was runner up for Road Racer of the year.

On behalf of Canadian Kawasaki Motors Inc., we congratulate our factory road racers as well as the entire factory team of mechanics, sponsors and colleagues that make these results possible.

For further information on this year’s Inside Track reader’s choice awards please log on to